About the Classes

Where, When, Fee

Prenatal classes will be held on the North Shore, on Saturday mornings from 9 am. to 12 pm, some Sunday afternoons from 2 to 5 pm, or Wednesday evenings from 6:30 pm. to 9:30 pm.  Breastfeeding and Baby Care classes will be held on Monday or Wednesday evenings from 7 to 9 pm.

There is only one prenatal class.  A Breastfeeding and Baby Care class can be attended to complement the prenatal class or by itself.

Cost for the “Prenatal in a Nutshell” is $95 per couple.  Cost for the Breastfeeding and Baby Care class is $50 per expectant mom (or couple).

* Refreshments and product giveaways included

.

Content

For “Prenatal in a Nutshell”:

  • Body changes in late pregnancy
  • Warning signs associated with preterm labour and high-risk pregnancy
  • Signs of labour
  • When to go to the hospital
  • The birth process
  • Breathing, positioning and comfort measures
  • Role of your support person
  • Medical interventions
  • What to expect after your birth

CONTENT for “Breastfeeding and Baby Care”:

*Physiology of Breastfeeding

*Breastfeeding Positions

*What to expect with breastfeeding

*Tips to increase your breastfeeding success

*Physical and emotional changes after the birth

*Normal newborn appearance and behaviour

*Why babies cry and how you can help

.

Dates

Prenatal in a Nutshell Workshops

St Andrews United Church

Saturdays – 9 am to 12 pm

  • Sunday, January 21 (2-5 pm) – sorry, FULL
  • February 24
  • Sunday, March 4 (2-5 pm)
  • Sunday, April 15 (2-5 pm)
  • Sunday, May 6 (2-5 pm)
  • Sunday, June 10 (2-5 pm)
  • Sunday, July 15 (2-5 pm)
  • July 18

.

Weekdays – 6:30 to 9:30 pm

  • Monday, December 18  (sorry, FULL)
  • Wednesday, January 10
  • Wednesday, February 7
  • March 7
  • April 11
  • Monday, May 7
  • Monday, June 25
  • July 11
  • Thursday, August 30

Breastfeeding and Baby Care Classes

Weekdays – 7 to 9 pm

  • Wednesday, January 17
  • Monday, March 12
  • Wednesday, May 16
  • Wednesday, July 18